No ImageCooking Gluten-Free

  1. Denise Webb

    I am new to the gluten free world. I see that there is a recipe for Beef Barley Stew. I thought barley had gluten. Please explain.

    Show Replies (1)
  2. Liz

    Having been gluten free for over 7 years, I know first-hand how far its come. When I first was diagnosed, there were very few resources out there. Mainly list-serves with paranoid crazy gluten-free fanatics. It was enough to put the fear of death by gluten in me!

    7 years ago, you had to travel far and wide for decent gluten free bread, and gluten-free beer in the package store? Forget it. Nevermind the looks from friends, family and acquaintances who never heard of such a crazy thing.

    Thank you to everyone out there who has helped mainstream the no-gluten movement. You know you’ve made it when Betty Crocker and Budweiser jump on board.

  3. Kristin

    I wish it was this simple for me!! I just found out I’m allergic to gluten AND eggs, dairy, almonds, soy, and much more…it’s a trip but this is a good way to start…if anyone has any tips re: egg replacement let me know please!!!

    Kristin, You are not alone in this! I am also baking without dairy and eggs, almonds and soy. There are several alternatives to eggs. I find Ener-G Egg Replacer very useful. It is better at rising than binding, however, so egg-free recipes need a boost in that department. I often add a tablespoon of honey to a recipe, or some fruit puree, or a touch more xanthan gum to help bind the batter. ~Karina

  4. Melissa Jones

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
    I was dx a year ago, and am trying so hard to follow this diet to a T so that I can begin to heal my body. I have complicating medical conditions, but this is something I can CONTROL! I am running out of ideas, and am finding many off the shelf items are just gross ( still haven’t found a good bread or pizza dough) so this really came at a great time for me.
    There are many of us out there, and thank you… from the bottom of my belly ;)

    Thanks!

  5. Diana

    Although I don’t have celiac disease, I have lots of friends with it and am always trying to be aware of what has gluten and what doesn’t. I’m pointing this out in my potato quesadilla post tomorrow, but be careful with corn tortillas. A lot of companies have started adding wheat flour to their tortillas, so make sure to read the label, or ask your restaurant server about it.

View More